Visitors to the 1678 Coffin House explore three centuries with one of Newbury’s founding families. The house, which contains family furnishings, began as a simple dwelling where Tristram Coffin and his family lived, cooked, and slept in two or three rooms. Later the house was doubled in size and, as the family grew, they added partitions and lean-tos so that different generations could continue to live under one roof. With rooms from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries, Coffin House tells the story of seven generations of one local family. Visit nearby Swett-Ilsley House and Spencer-Peirce-Little Farm.