Salisbury, Massachusetts

Photo Credit: Massachusetts Office Of Travel & Tourism

A Brief History of Salisbury, MA

Once the territory of the Pentucket tribe, Salisbury, MA was settled by the English in 1638 as Merrimac. The town was renamed and incorporated as Salisbury a year later in 1639. Salisbury was originally a farming community until 1866. When Beach Road was constructed across the Great Marsh, it provided access to long stretches of pristine beach. Afterward, the town developed into a thriving summer resort lined with hotels, restaurants, shops, cottages, arcades, and amusement parks.

Exploring Salisbury From The Byway

Today, Salisbury is a popular tourist destination. The Salisbury Beach State Reservation offers just under 4 miles of sandy beaches to explore. And its 521-acres of park features green spaces, trailer camping, boating, and fishing. Salisbury visitors can also walk along the Salisbury Beach Boardwalk, where they’ll find plenty of nightlife, arcades, live music, restaurants, and quick-service fried seafood stands. Salisbury also sits on the New Hampshire border, so those who wish to travel beyond the Byway can make their way into Seabrook, Hampton, Rye, and Portsmouth, NH.

Bartlett Farm

96 Main Street , Salisbury, MA 1952

Herb FARMacy

30 Elmwood St , Salisbury, MA 1952

Maria Miles Massachusetts Visitor Information Center

Exit 60 on Route 95 , Salisbury, MA 1952

Pettengill Farm

45 Ferry Rd , Salisbury, MA 1952

Salisbury Beach State Reservation

Beach Rd, Route 1A , Salisbury, MA 1952

Salisbury Historical Society Museum

16 Elm Street , Salisbury, MA 1952

Salisbury Salt Marsh Wildlife Management

Sweet Apple Tree Lane , Salisbury, MA 1952

Stevens Tree Farm

72 Mudnock Rd , Salisbury, MA 1952