The White-Ellery House is an an outstanding example of First Period architecture located at the gateway to Cape Ann. The White-Ellery House was erected in 1710 upon what was then the Town Green of Gloucester. It was built at the edge of a marsh for Gloucester’s first settled minister, the Reverend John White (1677-1760). It is a 2 – story “saltbox” structure with a massive central chimney that once serviced six fireplaces. In keeping with White’s esteemed position in the community, the House exhibits a certain elegance and refinement, perhaps best reflected in the surviving interior details. In 1735, the house was purchased by James Stevens and kept as a tavern, sometimes serving as a meeting place for the town’s selectmen. In 1740, Captain William Ellery (1693-1771) took title to the property. Ellery, who was almost 50 years old, had just married for the second time and after keeping the tavern in operation for a few years, used the house as a home for his growing family. Today, visitors enter much the same house they would have 300 years ago. The White-Ellery House serves as a study property, inviting visitors to explore not only the history of early American architecture but also the story of an ordinary New England family who worked hard to provide for themselves and to raise their children, who took part in events of local and national importance, and who sought to preserve their legacy in the face of an ever changing world. The House also serves as a unique venue for art installations and related programming which are held at the site during the summer months.